A draft document has not yet been released for review. Only the creator can see and edit it. Changes are not recorded in it, and you cannot insert comments or place a section bookmark.
In a document in review mode, all changes are saved and recorded per section.
This can also be shared with others, and comments and section bookmarks can be made.